About Support Groups

Welcome!

All FPA Support Group meetings are FREE and open to the public. Whether you are personally affected by facial pain, are a loved one, or a person under age 40, FPA has a group for you. Choose national or regional meetings- or both! We also provide contacts with several international groups. When you are ready, we are here.

Jump to list of upcoming meetings.

What are the advantages of attending a support group meeting?

For many people with facial pain, a support group is one of the only places where they can connect with others who share their experience. A support group provides understanding, encouragement, and reassurance that will help you adjust to life changes brought on by facial pain. Our support groups offer a safe haven for discussing your challenges and a place for you to ask for advice, give tips to others, and spend some time with an encouraging network of people who have walked in your shoes.

What is an FPA Support Group meeting like?

Before your first meeting

FPA groups are free and open to people with facial pain, their family members, caregivers, and other loved ones. Prior to a virtual meeting, you will need to register online. For in-person meetings, registration is not required but informing your local leader that you will be attending helps him or her with planning.

We encourage you to contact your local support group leader to introduce yourself before your first meeting and learn more about about upcoming meetings or events. Your leader is also able to answer questions that will help you feel more comfortable attending for the first time- your leader will be happy to hear from you!

Meeting formats

Some groups meet online using Zoom or other easy-to-use video platforms. Other groups normally meet in person. At the time of the meeting, you will join your group and be greeted by your support group leader. Meeting structures vary – some meetings will include a speaker; others will be strictly supportive, or both. The supportive meeting, sometimes called ‘caring and sharing’ features an open format, allowing attendees to openly discuss topics that interest them. Whether you want to just listen, or you want to share your experiences or ask questions of others, you are free to do so. For most people, simply attending meetings and listening to the experiences of others can be very helpful.

If a meeting includes a speaker or educational topic, you can expect that the speaker is from a health care or other professional area. Topics may include facial pain diagnosis, treatment options, medication, complementary health approaches, pain management, coping, and many others. You can also request a speaker on a specific topic.

FPA Support Group Leaders and Co-Leaders

Our leaders and co-leaders are volunteers, and just like you, are people affected by facial pain. They offer their time and energy as FPA volunteers to give back to the facial pain community. These special people receive support from FPA to help them set up, promote, and run their meetings successfully.

If you are interested in becoming an FPA Support Group Leader, visit Volunteer with the Facial Pain Association.

Who attends these meetings?

People just like you. People whose lives have been changed by facial pain and are also looking for answers and to connect with caring support. Some FPA Support Groups are offered to specific groups- local groups cater to people who live within the region. The FPA Young Patients Committee (YPC) offers a group for people age 40 and under. There is also a group for parents, one for friends and family, and others. For more information about FPA Support Groups, please contact Regina at rgore@facepain.org.

A note about international groups: International contacts, with the exception of Brazil are not official FPA Support Groups. The FPA only supervises and supports official FPA Support Groups. The contact information provided is intended as a starting point in your area.

 

Find a Support Group


Common Ground

Rachel Scherer: rschereradfpa@gmail.com

Open to friends, family, and loved ones.

Anna Beard: beard.anna.e@gmail.com Barbara Turczyn: jobar04@aol.com

For those with tumors complicating or causing their facial pain.

Vince Holtmann: vholtmann@sbcglobal.net

Open to those 40 and under.

Rachel Triay: youngpatientscommittee@gmail.com

Open to All - Virtual

Contact Leader Sarah Ancell: fpasancell@gmail.com

Contact Leader Anne Ciemnecki: aciemnecki@gmail.com

Contact Leader Robert Ramsey: robert.ramsey201@gmail.com

United States

Tucson, AZ
Tom Kruse: 352-888-4646, facialpain.tucson@gmail.com

Los Angeles, CA

Bob Golub: bobgolub54@gmail.com

Northern CA

Susan Mills: 415-302-3529, susanamills@hotmail.com

Allan Enis: 916-215-1112, aenis0913@gmail.com

Orange County, CA

Andy Petitjean: 714-944-3044, OCTNAFPA@yahoo.com

Alice Wynaught: 949-877-6546, alicewhynaught@gmail.com

Palo Alto, CA

Vee Vo: 650-736-0262, sdchang@stanford.edu

San Diego, CA

Nora Casas: noragcasas@gmail.com

Orlando, FL

Tammy Roberts: lovbooks@outlook.com

Palm Beach Gardens, FL

Barbara Turczyn: (561) 676-3775, jobar04@aol.com

Heidi Wittgren: hlwittgren@gmail.com

Tampa, FL

Sylvia Arroyo: dasylu21@yahoo.com

Alia Aboulhosn: aliahosn@yahoo.com

Columbus, GA

Lisa East: (706) 662-2797, colstnsg@gmail.com

Atlanta – North Metro, GA

Christine Cohen: (678) 978-5775, christinecohen95@gmail.com

Currently recruiting. Contact Regina Gore: rgore@facepain.org

Indianapolis, IN

Shelby Ennis: shelbsennis@gmail.com

Lapel, IN

Kathy Hays: 765-534-5053, teacherhays50@aol.com

Louisville, KY
Amy Marshall: amemarsh71@gmail.com

Baltimore, MD
Supriya Goyal: 617-372-5683, supriya2107@gmail.com

Detroit, MI
Tim Guith: 248-643-9131 (H), 248-227-8064 (C), tagdude@webtv.net Lynn Ruppe: 313-929-2481, lrruppe@aol.com

Grand Rapids, MI

Kurt Goodman: kurtgoodman1@gmail.com

Mid-Michigan

Mary Pingel: (517) 290-3895, maryc1106@aol.com

Twin Cities

Tamar Krivosha: tamar.herring@gmail.com

Kansas City, MO
Diana Crites: 816-585-5520, dianacrites.kc@gmail.com

St. Louis, MO
Vince Holtmann: 314-541-6294, vholtmann@sbcglobal.net  Sharon Whitener: 636-678-7511, sharon_whitener@sbcglobal.net

Long Island, NY

Maddy Brisman: maddybrisman68@gmail.com

Long Island

Jill Della Ratta: jill.dellaratta12@gmail.com

New York City, NY

Michael Cohen: cohenmpc@gmail.com

Westchester County

Deirdre Glascott: deirdreglascott@gmail.com

The Carolinas

Kim Fields: (336) 222-7026, fieldskimberella@hotmail.com

Gail Wells: fitzwallace5@gmail.com

Currently recruiting. Contact Regina Gore: rgore@facepain.org

Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Alaska 
Lauren Corson: (206) 719-5559, laurencorson777@gmail.com

Philadelphia, PA
Jeff Fogel: 215-651-2861, docfog4308@yahoo.com Stuart Gause: 215-534-6214, stugause@gmail.com

The Carolinas

Kim Fields: (336) 222-7026, fieldskimberella@hotmail.com

Gail Wells: fitzwallace5@gmail.com

Tom Kruse: 352-888-4646, facialpain.tucson@gmail.com

Currently recruiting. Contact Regina Gore: rgore@facepain.org

Currently recruiting. Contact Regina Gore: rgore@facepain.org

Australia

Bert Henke, 08 9845 1706, bhenke@westnet.com.au

Julie Russell: russco@westnet.com.au

Irene Wood: 0245 796 226, tna_sydney@yahoo.com

Helen Tyzack: 0456 022 883, newtyzack@gmail.com

Brian Power: (08) 9385 9550, brian_power@bigpond.com Julia McDonald: (08) 9384 5816 or (08) 0417 968 600, juliamcdonald@ozemail.com.au

Brazil

Tatiana Colledan: 5511 9 9805-5218, tatiana.colledan@gmail.com

Canada

Calgary, AB
Jan Williams: calgary@catna2.ca

White Rock, BC
Charlee Yoshizawa: whiterock@catna2.ca

Steinbach, MB
Patty Penner: steinbach@catna2.ca

Niagara Falls, ON
Brenda Sharp: niagara@catna2.ca

St Charles, ON
Sandra Todd: stcharles@catna2.ca

Toronto, ON
Kathy Sommer: toronto@catna2.ca

Regina, SK
Faye Meyer: regina@catna2.ca

Saskatoon, SK
Gail Flynn: saskatoon@catna2.ca

Israel

Yeara Eliyahu and Michael Shaul (יערה אליהו ומיכאל שאול): facepainil@gmail.com

New Zealand

Lyn Bailey: nztn@xtra.co.nz

Portugal

Tatiana Colledan: 5511 9 9805-5218, tatiana.colledan@gmail.com

United Kingdom

TNA United Kingdom 
+ 44 (1883) 370214, help@tna.org.uk

Venezuela

Venezuela

Dr. Gustavo Trivilion: (424) 520-3378, gtrivilion@gmail.com

View or Download the Patient Guide

Learn more about neuropathic facial pain, including how to get a diagnosis, treatments, and more by viewing or downloading our free patient guide.

By filling out the form below, you will receive a free FPA Patient Guide and periodic updates on the management and treatment of facial pain conditions. We do not share this information with any outside sources.

By filling out the form below, you will receive a free FPA Patient Guide and periodic updates on the management and treatment of facial pain conditions. We do not share this information with any outside sources.