About Support Groups

Welcome!

All FPA Support Group meetings are FREE and open to the public. Whether you are personally affected by facial pain, are a loved one, or a person under age 40, FPA has a group for you. Choose national or regional meetings- or both! We also provide contacts with several international groups. When you are ready, we are here.

Jump to list of upcoming meetings.

What are the advantages of attending a support group meeting?

For many people with facial pain, a support group is one of the only places where they can connect with others who share their experience. A support group provides understanding, encouragement, and reassurance that will help you adjust to life changes brought on by facial pain. Our support groups offer a safe haven for discussing your challenges and a place for you to ask for advice, give tips to others, and spend some time with an encouraging network of people who have walked in your shoes.

What is an FPA Support Group meeting like?

Before your first meeting

FPA groups are free and open to people with facial pain, their family members, caregivers, and other loved ones. Prior to a virtual meeting, you will need to register online. For in-person meetings, registration is not required but informing your local leader that you will be attending helps him or her with planning.

We encourage you to contact your local support group leader to introduce yourself before your first meeting and learn more about about upcoming meetings or events. Your leader is also able to answer questions that will help you feel more comfortable attending for the first time- your leader will be happy to hear from you!

Meeting formats

Some groups meet online using Zoom or other easy-to-use video platforms. Other groups normally meet in person. At the time of the meeting, you will join your group and be greeted by your support group leader. Meeting structures vary – some meetings will include a speaker; others will be strictly supportive, or both. The supportive meeting, sometimes called ‘caring and sharing’ features an open format, allowing attendees to openly discuss topics that interest them. Whether you want to just listen, or you want to share your experiences or ask questions of others, you are free to do so. For most people, simply attending meetings and listening to the experiences of others can be very helpful.

If a meeting includes a speaker or educational topic, you can expect that the speaker is from a health care or other professional area. Topics may include facial pain diagnosis, treatment options, medication, complementary health approaches, pain management, coping, and many others. You can also request a speaker on a specific topic.

FPA Support Group Leaders and Co-Leaders

Our leaders and co-leaders are volunteers, and just like you, are people affected by facial pain. They offer their time and energy as FPA volunteers to give back to the facial pain community. These special people receive support from FPA to help them set up, promote, and run their meetings successfully.

Who attends these meetings?

People just like you. People whose lives have been changed by facial pain and are also looking for answers and to connect with caring support. Some FPA Support Groups are offered to specific groups- local groups cater to people who live within the region. The FPA Young Patients Committee (YPC) offers a group for people age 40 and under. There is also a group for parents, one for friends and family, and others. For more information about FPA Support Groups, please contact Regina at rgore@tna-support.org.

Find a Support Group

Virtual

Open to friends, family, and loved ones. Contact Leader Anna Beard: beard.anna.e@gmail.com

Contact Leaders Ally Kubik: apcastellano24@gmail.com  Sarah Ancel: fpasancell@gmail.com

Contact Leader Anne Ciemnecki: aciemnecki@gmail.com

Open to those 40 and under.
Contact Leader Rachel Triay: youngpatientscommittee@gmail.com

United States

Tucson, AZ
Tom Kruse: 352-888-4646, facialpain.tucson@gmail.com

Northridge, CA

Currently recruiting. Contact Regina Gore for more information: rgore@tna-support.org

Orange County, CA
Andy Petitjean: 714-944-3044, OCTNAFPA@yahoo.com Alice Wynaught: 949-877-6546, alicewhynaught@gmail.com

Palo Alto, CA
Vee Vo: 650-736-0262, sdchang@stanford.edu

Sacramento, CA
Allan Enis: 916-774-4792, aenis@alum.rpi.edu

San Francisco East Bay
Susan Mills: 415-302-3529, susanamills@hotmail.com

Jacksonville, FL

Margie Thomas: (904) 626-3445, smthomas3142@bellsouth.net

Palm Beach Gardens, FL

Barbara Turczyn: (561) 676-3775, jobar04@aol.com

Columbus, GA

Lisa East: (706) 662-2797, colstnsg@gmail.com

Atlanta – North Metro, GA (forming Fall 2021)

Christine Cohen: (678) 978-5775, christinecohen95@gmail.com

Currently recruiting. Contact Regina Gore for more information: rgore@tna-support.org

Lapel, IN
Kathy Hays: 765-534-5053, teacherhays50@aol.com

Louisville, KY
Kenny Wilmont: 502-338-4338, kwilmont@twc.com

Baltimore, MD
Tersea Cordonnier: 410-654-3734, LLCordonnier@comcast.net

Detroit, MI
Tim Guith: 248-643-9131 (H), 248-227-8064 (C), tagdude@webtv.net                                                                 

Lynne Ruppe: 313-929-2481, lrruppe@aol.com

Mid-Michigan

Mary Pingel: (517) 290-3895, maryc1106@aol.com

Currently recruiting. Contact Regina Gore for more information: rgore@tna-support.org

Kansas City, MO
Candace Walkup: 913-909-9904, candacewalkup1@gmail.com

St. Louis, MO
Vince Holtmann: 314-541-6294, vholtmann@sbcglobal.net                                                                                    

Sharon Whitener: 636-678-7511, sharon_whitener@sbcglobal.net

Currently recruiting. Contact Regina Gore for more information: rgore@tna-support.org

The Carolinas
Kim Fields: (336) 222-7026, fieldskimberella@hotmail.com

Currently recruiting. Contact Regina Gore for more information: rgore@tna-support.org

Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Alaska 
Lauren Corson: (206) 719-5559, laurencorson777@gmail.com

Philadelphia, PA
Jeff Fogel: 215-651-2861, docfog4308@yahoo.com                                                                                                   

Stuart Gause: 215-534-6214, stugause@gmail.com

The Carolinas
Kim Fields: (336) 222-7026, fieldskimberella@hotmail.com

Currently recruiting. Contact Regina Gore for more information: rgore@tna-support.org

Richmond Mid-VA
Vickie Dance: 804-744-2091, mom42jds@aol.com

Australia

Bert Henke, 08 9845 1706, bhenke@westnet.com.au

Julie Russell: russco@westnet.com.au

Irene Wood: 0245 796 226, tna_sydney@yahoo.com

Helen Tyzack: 0456 022 883, newtyzack@gmail.com

Brian Power: (08) 9385 9550, brian_power@bigpond.com

Julia McDonald: (08) 9384 5816 or (08) 0417 968 600, juliamcdonald@ozemail.com.au

Brazil

Tatiana Colledan: 5511 9 9805-5218, tatiana.colledan@gmail.com

Canada

Calgary, AB
Jan Williams: calgary@catna2.ca

White Rock, BC
Charlee Yoshizawa: whiterock@catna2.ca

Steinbach, MB
Patty Penner: steinbach@catna2.ca

Niagara Falls, ON
Brenda Sharp: niagara@catna2.ca

St Charles, ON
Sandra Todd: stcharles@catna2.ca

Toronto, ON
Kathy Sommer: toronto@catna2.ca

Regina, SK
Faye Meyer: regina@catna2.ca

Saskatoon, SK
Gail Flynn: saskatoon@catna2.ca

Egypt

Mona Reda Abdelaziz: +2 048 2223631 (daytime) or +2 048 2221699 (home)

Germany

Peter Stemer: 07243 /63932, tn-kontakt@web.de

Italy

Rolando Drahorad: 39 348 700 6290, roland@ncx.it

New Zealand

Singapore

Peter Foo: 65-92364252, peterfoo68g@yahoo.com.sg

United Kingdom

TNA United Kingdom 
+ 44 (1883) 370214, help@tna.org.uk

Venezuela

Venezuela

Contact Dr. Gustavo Trivilion: (424) 520-3378, gtrivilion@gmail.com

View or Download the Patient Guide

Learn more about neuropathic facial pain, including how to get a diagnosis, treatments, and more by viewing or downloading our free patient guide.

By filling out the form below, you will receive a free FPA Patient Guide and periodic updates on the management and treatment of facial pain conditions. We do not share this information with any outside sources.

By filling out the form below, you will receive a free FPA Patient Guide and periodic updates on the management and treatment of facial pain conditions. We do not share this information with any outside sources.